Staff Training

Fully Trained

Home Care Services, South Oxfordshire

All staff must complete the Care Certificate as part of their induction. 1 to 1 Care has implemented the Care Certificate developed by Skills for Care, Health Education England, and Skills for Health.

The Care Certificate comprises 15 separate modules called standards that cover all aspects of personal care:

1. Understand your role
2. Your personal development
3. Duty of care
4. Equality and diversity
5. Work in a person-centred way
6. Communication
7. Privacy and dignity
8. Fluids and nutrition
9. Awareness of mental health, dementia, and learning disabilities
10. Safeguarding adults
11. Safeguarding children
12. Basic life support
13. Health and safety
14. Movement and handling
15. Infection prevention and control


Staff Development

As new staff work through the care certificate, they will receive hands on training, support and mentoring from our senior team in the community. Their development is closely monitored and only when the senior team are confident in the new team member will they start to be allowed to support adults on their own in a structured manner.

Staff supervisions and spot checks will be more frequent for new staff to ensure training is being adhered to and best standards of personal care are being applied and developed.

After Induction

We revisit all the modules in more depth and ensure all training is kept current taking account of legislation changes and best practice. A personal development plan is created for each member of staff and all staff are encouraged and supported to continually develop and refresh their skills. We have developed a significant number of additional training modules some quite specialist which are available to all staff.

In addition, we undertake specialist training for our NHS Clients that covers eye drops, compression stockings, ted stockings, warfarin, and compromised swallow.

When new staff have settled in, usually in around 6 months, we will offer the opportunity to develop formal qualifications which currently involves an NVQ Level 2 and NVQ Level 3 in Health & Social Care.